Author: Linda Slater

Central Committee Approves Racial Justice Resolutions

At its meeting on June 16, 2020, the San Diego County Democratic Party Central Committee approved the following resolutions addressing racial justice:

Demand that the San Diego Democrats Refuse Donations from Law Enforcement Unions (2)

Inciting Imminent Lawless Action is Not Protected First Amendment Speech by Christina Perry

Condemning the Lethal Use of “Non-Lethal” Weapons

Supporting the Creation of an Independent, Community-Led Commission on Police Practices

Responsibly Reduce Police Funding in the City of San Diego

Defund For-Profit Prisons and Enact ‘Justice is not for Sale’ Ordinances in Every Community

DEMCCO Endorses in Strategically Critical Oceanside Races

At DEMCCO’s February 22, 2020 meeting, endorsement votes were held for the Oceanside Mayor and Oceanside City Council, District 4 races.  There were two Democratic candidates participating in the endorsement for each race. 

While these races will be on the November 3, 2020 ballot, endorsement was sought early because they have been designated strategically critical.  Some members expressed concern that these endorsements should not be considered until later, e.g. August, however, the majority of the membership supported proceeding with the endorsements.  Early endorsement allows candidates more time and resources to conduct a successful campaign.

DEMCCO’s Bylaws require that a candidate receive a minimum of 60% of the votes in favor of their endorsement.  One ballot was held in each race and the 60% threshold was reached in both races.  The results are as follows:

    • Oceanside Mayor:     Esther Sanchez (73%)
    • Oceanside City Council, District 4:    Jane Marshall (60%)

Congratulations, Esther Sanchez and Jane Marshall.  Now let’s get busy working on a November 3 win!

Proposed Bylaws Amendments

Some amendments to the DEMCCO Bylaws have been proposed and they are being offered here to get input from members.  Please look these over and send your concerns to Your opinion is very important!

First, an Ad Hoc Committee worked on revising the Candidate Endorsement section.  The first document is the amendments side-by-side with the current Bylaws.  The Ad Hoc Committee is suggesting that a procedure document be included as an Appendix to the Bylaws and that is the second document,

Draft Ad Hoc Candidate Endorsements

DRAFT Ad Hoc Procedures

The last document is the entire current Bylaws with a variety of amendments especially to the Membership section.  Some are changes required by the San Diego County Democratic Party while others are changes suggested by the Membership Chair, Shirley Anderson.  Finally, amendments to the section on Resolution Endorsements are done to make it more inclusive of ballot measures and propositions and to shorten the notification time to enable DEMCCO to approve resolutions where there is limited time for approval.  The San Diego County Democratic Party requires 7 days from the time the resolution is received and when it is voted on by the Central Committee.

DEMCCO Bylaws DRAFT amended Nov 2019


Resolutions on Climate Change Passed by DEMCCO Members on July 27, 2019

Please see the menu at the top.  Click on “Info” then scroll down and click on “Resolutions.”

CDP Resolutions Report – May 2019 State Convention

This is the resolution report that Cori Schumacher referenced in her remarks at the June 22, 2019 DEMCCO meeting.

CDP Resolutions Committee Report May 2019 State Convention

DEMCCO Members Survey

As a result of the Retreat on March 31, 2019, it was recommended that we conduct a survey of DEMCCO members to find out how we are doing and where we need to improve.  Your participation is very helpful.  Please click on the following link and rate each statement from 1 to 5 (strongly disagree to strongly agree).  You can include comments at the end.  Thank you for your participation in this survey.

Survey link:


Report from the DEMCCO Retreat

On March 31, 2019, 28 members of DEMCCO met to share ideas and develop goals and plans of action for our club.  This exercise was quite satisfying.  The results of our work is presented by clicking on this link: Retreat Report 2

DEMCCO Elects Officers

At the Annual Election Meeting on February 23, 2019, new (and returning) officers were elected. The results are:

President: Linda Slater

1st Vice President: Pat Amador

Treasurer: Mary Meyers

Fundraising Chair: Dee Forsberg

Membership Chair: Shirley Anderson

Political Action Chair: Kyle Krahel-Frolander

Special Events Chair: Vince Loughney

The following officers have one more year on their term of office:

2nd Vice President: Mike Bullock

Communications Chair: Blair Daniels

A vacancy now exists in the office of Secretary. According to DEMCCO’s Bylaws, the Executive Board will appoint a member to a vacancy and that member will serve until the next regularly scheduled election meeting. If you are interested in serving in this capacity, please let us know at

Results of ADEM Election

On Sunday, nearly 1000 registered Democrats showed up in Oceanside to elect 76th Assembly District Delegates to the California Democratic Party.  The 14 Delegates based on preliminary results are:
Women Elected Delegates: Priya Bhat-Patel, Nikki Faddick, Nancy Hardwick, Kathy Rallings, Cess Resnick, Rachel Rott, Cori Schumacher (also elected E-Board Rep)
Men Elected Delegates: Mustafa Nizam (also elected E-Board Alternate), Al Goodman, Rob Howard, Kyle Krahel-Frolander, Larry Lugo, Kevin Sabellico, Harold Standerfer